2016 Bowling World Cup Award Winners

Following up another great year at the QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup, we take the time to recognize all of our major winners from the tournament. We share the winners of the top men and women bowlers, the high game awards and the prize for top country.

Wang Hongbo and Jenny Wegner were our winners, but others reached the podium as well.

Finals Champions 

Jenny had beaten our long time leader, Bernice Lim of Singapore, in the semi-final, while Syaidatul Afifah of Malaysia lost to Danielle McEwan of the USA.

Bernice had last played in the World Cup in Malaka in 2009 and finished 20th. Danielle had played in the event twice before, in Wroclaw in 2012 when she won the prize for high game, hitting her first ever sanctioned 300, and in Krasnoyarsk in 2013, and she had finished fourth both times. But in Krasnoyarsk she did win the top country award together with John Szczerbinski who had also finished fourth.

Martin Larsen of Sweden went into the arena finals in top spot, hoping to improve on his second place in Hermosillo, Mexico, in 2008. But he lost to Chris Sloan of Ireland, who had started the penultimate day in 22nd place, a record climb up the standings. In the other semi-final, Wang beat Anze Grabrijan of Slovenia, but this was the best ever result for Slovenia, our wonderful hosts in 2005.

No Irishman had ever won the title and no one from China, male or female, had ever come close. Chris however had bowled in the event before, in Krasnoyarsk, when he hit not one but two perfect games. So a new country name has appeared on the men’s trophy.

Top country award went to Sweden, not surprisingly as both players finished in the top four. It is the fourth time Sweden has taken this honour.

The trophy for high game was also presented. Bernice won the women’s with 290. Although Iliana Lomeli of Mexico also hit 290, the rules of the tournament give the trophy to the first player to hit the high score in the event of a tie. Bernice shot hers in the second block of qualifying while Iliana shot hers in the fourth block. The men’s trophy went to Arturs Levikins of Latvia, the first time Latvia has ever won an award at the Bowling World Cup. Arturs’ score of 286 lasted despite the best efforts of all the others.

And here are all the awards.

World Cup Finals:


  1. Wang Hongbo (China)
  2. Chris Sloan (Ireland)
  3. Martin Larsen (Sweden) and Anze Grabrijan (Slovenia)


Men's Awards.JPG


  1. Jenny Wegner (Sweden)
  2. Danielle McEwan (US)
  3. Bernice Lim (Singapore) and Syaidatul Afifah (Malaysia)

 Women's Awards.JPG

High Game:

Men:       Arturs Levikins 286 (Latvia)

Women: Bernice Lim 290 (Singapore)

 High Game.jpg



Top Country: Sweden

Top Country Award.jpg

So that’s it for another year.



QubicaAMF is the largest and most innovative bowling equipment provider in the world with 600 employees worldwide. We build and modernize more bowling entertainment centers than any other company in the industry and have an installed base of more than 10,000 centers in 90 countries. The company has a sales and distribution network with worldwide reach and maintains the largest R&D team for electro-mechanical products, software, electronics, and entertainment systems in the industry.

QubicaAMF has over 100 years of experience and can provide the perfect combination of bowling equipment, products, and services for new or existing bowling entertainment centers, FECs, Cinemas, or any other facility in the hospitality, retail, or restaurant industry. Our ongoing mission is Making Bowling Amazing. We are convinced that bowling has so much more potential to attract and entertain even more people. With our products, we will help our customers fully unleash that potential.

The company has U.S. headquarters in Richmond, Virginia and European headquarters in Bologna, Italy.