2005 Ljubljana, Slovenia 41st AMF Bowling World Cup - November 13th to 20th 2005

Competition Format






Stage 1 - Qualifying Round

All bowlers roll 24 games, and the total pins knocked down by each determine the playersÂ’ standings.

Stage 2 - Intermediate Round

The field of bowlers is cut to the highest scoring 24 men and 24 women. Those bowlers roll 8 more games. All the pins a bowler knocked down in Stage 1 (“pinfall”) are carried forward and added to the total pins knocked down in Stage 2 to determine standings.

Stage 3 – Head-to-Head, Best-of-Three Matches – Arena Finals.

The field of bowlers is narrowed to the top eight scorers in the men and women’s divisions (“Round of 8”). Each of the top eight is assigned a “seeding” rank, based on total pinfall after 32 games. The man and woman with the most total pins thus far become the No. 1 seeds in their respective divisions; the bowlers in each division with the second-best total scores become the No. 2 seeds, and so forth. The top eight men and women advance to the single-elimination phase, and all pinfall totals from the two previous rounds are dropped. Now players bowl against each other in head-to-head, best-two-of-three-games matches in their divisions, starting with the quarterfinal round. The quarterfinal winners advance to the next bracket, or semifinal round, of matches.

Those players winning their best-of-three semifinal matches advance to the championship round of the 2005 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup. Each championship match—men and women—will also be a head-to-head, best-of-three-games contest.

The male and female winners of this round will be declared the 2005 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup champions.

Player Number

#1 ____________                    
vs. \
#1 vs. #8
#8 ____________       \ Winner,          
    vs.     (#1 vs #8) vs (#4 vs #5) \        
#4 ____________       /     \      
vs. \
#4 vs. #5
/         \    
#5 ____________                 \  
                    2005 QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup Champion
#3 ____________                 /  
vs. \
#3 vs. #6
\         /    
#6 ____________       \ Winner,   /      
    vs.     (#3 vs #6) vs (#7 vs #2) /        
#7 ____________       /            
vs. \
#7 vs. #2
#2 ____________                    



Since the first event in 1965, winning AMF’s Bowling World Cup title has been the most coveted goal in amateur bowling. Whether held in the shadows of the Great Pyramids in or under the bright lights of , each tournament has provided unforgettable moments from competition that has spanned five decades.

Browse the archives to discover or revisit these moments, competitors, and the great champions that have made up the rich history of AMF’s Bowling World Cup.