1980 Jakarta, Indonesia

Soetopo Jananto, the president of the Indonesian Bowling Congress, was already famous for his World Cup parties, but he outdid himself in his hometown. He also oversaw an efficient and successful AMF Bowling World Cup at the bowling center tucked away in the Kartika Chandra Hotel. But then, how could it not be successful when, once again, it included Paeng Nepomuceno?

Nepomuceno was clearly back in form and captured his second Bowling World Cup title in his patented style. The lefthander edged Alfonso Rodriguez of Mexico, 676-663, despite Rodriguez' closing 240 game, to become the first person ever to win the championship more than once.

Jean Gordon gave Canada its third women's crown-and the last one to date when she stopped West Germany's Hannelore Hoplitschek, 602 to 557.

Click here to see bowler details.


Since the first event in 1965, winning AMF’s Bowling World Cup title has been the most coveted goal in amateur bowling. Whether held in the shadows of the Great Pyramids in or under the bright lights of , each tournament has provided unforgettable moments from competition that has spanned five decades.

Browse the archives to discover or revisit these moments, competitors, and the great champions that have made up the rich history of AMF’s Bowling World Cup.