2009 Melaka, Malaysia

13th - 20th November


Canada and Korea triumph in Malaysia

Canada and Korea triumph in Malaysia
Caroline Lagrange of Canada and Choi Yong-Kyu of Korea are the QubicaAMF Bowling World Champions for 2009, after fighting their way through 40 games of qualifying and quarter finals to reach the stepladder finals.
The women were first up in the semi-final with third place Zara Giles of England playing local heroine Siti Safiyah Amirah. Zara won by two games to nil, 202 – 181 and 226 -218. Zara moved on to play Caroline who was the number one seed. Zara won the first game 194 to 189 but Caroline came back strongly to win the second by 210 to 181 and the decider by 218 to 211, having had to hit the first two strikes in the tenth frame to make the title hers. It is the 8th time that Canada has won one of the titles.
In the men’s semi final, Michael Schmidt of Canada, who won the title in 2005 in Ljubljana (Slovenia), played Ryan Lalisang of Indonesia. Ryan was not on his usual form and Michael won 2:0 (202 and 247 to 180 and 217). Then in the final Michael played Choi whose form throughout the tournament had been outstanding. Choi simply continued where he left off in the quarter finals, winning by two games to nil, 236 and 227 to 173 and 208.
Earlier in the day, both the current high games were beaten. Siti Safiyah shot 290 and Choi shot the only perfect game of the tournament, so the two of them received the special prize for high game.
Choi, who won medals in the men’s world championships in Thailand and is a national team member, said afterwards: “In practice today, I felt really good and thought to myself ‘I can win this!’ and of course I am delighted, really pleased, to be the first Korean ever to win the coveted QubicaAMF Bowling World Cup title.”
Caroline did not lose at all today, having an 8-0 record in the round robin and then winning against Zara. She commented afterwards: “This is amazing! So many people want to have pictures of me and even with me and I feel very honoured to be the World Cup champion.”
The award for Sportsman and Sportswoman of the tournament, which is voted for by the bowlers themselves, will be presented by our new champions at the victory banquet at the Hotel Equatorial later this evening.

Photo by Hero Noda and ©QubicaAMF